Welcome to Snipsly, the best article advertising revenue site.

Create a Google AdSense Account & Keep 80% of your article’s advertising revenue. Click to the right to either login or create your account today.

Choose an action below, im sure you'll love it!
Join Snipsly and start making money → Login →

Comelec raffles party-list names for 2013 Elections

Due to intensions of improving the electoral system, Commission on Elections (Comelec) raffled the names of party list candidates in the upcoming 2013 elections.

The previous elections used alphabetical order system which some groups abused by putting letter A’s and number 1s in their names relentlessly.

Now, the reform changed the system. Party list groups randomly received their numbers from the draw which will be included in the official ballot listing in May.

In 2010, eight groups were proclaimed. However, Ako Bikol who got the most number of votes last elections was disqualified by the Supreme Court for 2013.

The other seven party list were still qualified namely, Coalition of Associations of Senior Citizens in the Philippines who got number 129 in the raffle, Akbayan Citizens’ Action Party (117), Gabriela Women’s Party (54), Cooperative NATCCO Network Party (51), Abono (7), Bayan Muna (79), An Waray (23) and Buhay Hayaan Yumabong Party-list (135).

Vacant Slots

At present, the official ballot listing has vacant slots due to candidates that were included in the raffle but are banned from joining as indicated in Comelec Resolution 9591.

On Monday, Comelec withdrew 13 names from the raffle. Vacant slots may be re-raffled to disqualified groups that will get a Supreme Court reprieve by January 11. If not, vacant slots may get skipped altogether.


With the new numbering system, some people may become confused. Comelec, however, said that it will not confuse voters. It added that people should know which groups they are voting including ones that are still in the gray areas of qualification.

Comments are closed.